Lovitz, Edet Highlight Men's Soccer All-Conference Awards

Lovitz, Edet Highlight Men's Soccer All-Conference Awards
SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Elon midfielder Daniel Lovitz was named the Southern Conference Player of the Year, Darren Powell was named the league’s Coach of the Year and the Phoenix put a league-best seven players on the all-conference teams to highlight the postseason men’s soccer awards announced Tuesday.

Furman forward Bobby Edet was named the SoCon Freshman of the Year.

The SoCon’s seven coaches voted on a pair of all-conference teams, an all-freshman team and the three individual awards. They were not allowed to vote for themselves or their own players. The all-conference first team consisted of 12 players due to a tie in the voting, while the second team and all-freshman team boasted 11 members each. Following Elon were Furman with five all-conference selections and regular-season SoCon champion Wofford and Georgia Southern with three each.

Lovitz, a senior from Wyndmoor, Pa., has scored 11 points on three goals and five assists in 14 matches on the season. All three of his goals were game-winners, as he had the decisive strikes in wins over UNCW, No. 9 Wake Forest and No. 6 Coastal Carolina. Lovitz also took first-team all-conference honors for the first time in his career after earning all-freshman honors in 2010 and a spot on the all-tournament team in 2012.

Lovitz becomes Elon’s second straight SoCon Player of the Year and fourth overall, all of which have come since 2008.

Edet is Furman’s leading scorer on the season with 15 points on seven goals and one assist. Four of Edet’s goals were game-winners, as he lifted the Paladins to victories over Presbyterian, Gardner-Webb, Davidson and No. 25 Elon. The Frisco, Texas, native is tied for seventh in the SoCon in scoring and is the top-scoring freshman in the league. He has helped the Paladins to an 11-4-2 overall record on the season and as high as No. 11 in the national rankings. Edet was the SoCon Player of the Week on Oct. 22 after notching an assist in Furman’s win over No. 9 Clemson and scoring the game-winner against the Phoenix.

Powell earned his second straight Coach of the Year award and fourth overall after directing Elon to a national ranking and a second-place finish in the SoCon. The ninth-year skipper has led his Phoenix squad to a 13-4-2 overall mark so far and a 4-2-0 record in league play. Powell has his team ranked 20th nationally by Soccer America, while Elon has also reached as high as 16th in the NSCAA/Continental Tire Top 25 this season.

Three of Powell’s charges earned first-team all-league honors, with forward Jason Waterman and keeper Nathan Dean joining Lovitz on the squad. Elon also had four second-team selections, as forward Matt Wescoe, midfielder James Brace and defenders Nick Butterly and Austin Dunker were selected.

Georgia Southern shared league-best honors with Elon with three first-team picks. Witt Carlisle took the distinction at forward, Hunter Norton at midfielder and Reed Norton in the defense.

Midfielder Martin Ontiveros represented Furman on the first team, while Edet, midfielder Michael Gandier, defender Trevor Haberkorn and keeper Sven Lissek gave the Paladins a league-best four second-teamers.

Appalachian State had a pair of first-team selections in forward Stanley Broaden and defender Harrison Delbridge, while Davidson forward Valeriy Sviderskiy, UNCG defender Mahdi Ali and Wofford midfielder Connor Davis rounded out the first team.

UNCG midfielder Oddur Gudmundsson and Wofford forward Matthew Aurednik and defender Forrest Lasso completed the second team.

Edet highlighted the all-freshman team, while fellow all-conference picks Haberkorn (Furman) and Aurednik (Wofford) also earned spots on the team. Furman’s Dylan Rowe gave the Paladins a league-high three selections, while three squads had two each. Appalachian State had two all-freshman picks in Stephen Chapman and Donovan Japp, while UNCG’s Hugo Coicaud and Rouven Wahlfeldt were also selected. Wofford’s Garrett Close gave the Terriers a pair of picks, and Davidson’s Max Pragnell and Georgia Southern’s Jeremy Rector rounded out the team.

Elon, Furman, Georgia Southern and Wofford all advanced to the semifinals of the SoCon Men’s Soccer Championship, to be held Friday in Greenville, S.C., at the Paladins’ Stone Stadium. The final will take place Sunday at 1 p.m. and will be broadcast on ESPN3, with the winner earning the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

2013 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team

Player of the Year – Daniel Lovitz, Sr., MF, Elon
Coach of the Year – Darren Powell, Elon
Freshman of the Year – Bobby Edet, F, Furman

First Team
F    Stanley Broaden, Appalachian State
F    Valeriy Sviderskiy, Davidson
F    Jason Waterman, Elon
F    Witt Carlisle, Georgia Southern
MF    Daniel Lovitz, Elon
MF    Martin Ontiveros, Furman
MF    Hunter Norton, Georgia Southern
MF    Connor Davis, Wofford
D    Harrison Delbridge, Appalachian State
D    Reed Norton, Georgia Southern
D    Mahdi Ali, UNCG
GK    Nathan Dean Elon

Second Team
F    Matt Wescoe, Elon
F    Bobby Edet, Furman
F    Matthew Aurednik, Wofford
MF    James Brace, Elon
MF    Michael Gandier, Furman
MF    Oddur Gudmundsson, UNCG
D    Nick Butterly, Elon
D    Austin Dunker, Elon
D    Trevor Haberkorn, Furman
D    Forrest Lasso, Wofford
GK    Sven Lissek, Furman

All-Freshman Team
Stephen Chapman, Appalachian State
Donovan Japp, Appalachian State
Max Pragnell, Davidson
Bobby Edet, Furman
Trevor Haberkorn, Furman
Dylan Rowe, Furman
Jeremy Rector, Georgia Southern
Hugo Coicaud, UNCG
Rouven Wahlfeldt, UNCG
Matthew Aurednik, Wofford
Garrett Closs, Wofford